There really is nothing better than spending a lazy day at the beach!
2017 is Wales’s ‘Year of Legends’. It’s a theme that fits the Isle of Anglesey like a glove – and in more ways than you might have thought.
The Great Strait Raft Run.
The AAAC biennial exhibition presents a diverse range of contemporary two and three dimensional artworks by members of the various art groups on Anglesey.
Anglesey has a distinguished coastal and maritime history.
A new exhibition, by the artist and maker Rhodri Owen who contrasts his own hand-crafted furniture with transfigured pieces in visually unexpected ways.
Starting from the image known as 'Poor Taff', which shows a poverty-stricken gentleman riding to London on a goat, this exhibition will explore how the Welsh people were portrayed in the popular press in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.
Beaumaris was the last of Edward I's 'iron ring' of castles along the North Wales coast.
Llynnon Mill, built in 1775, is the only working windmill in Wales producing stoneground wholemeal flour using organic wheat.
This community based museum tells the story of crossing the Menai Strait and celebrates the iconic, historic bridges and the famous engineers who built them.
Parys Mountain is one of Anglesey’s must-visit locations! There is a network of walks around the weird landscape of the ancient copper mine at Parys Mountain. A sight not to be missed is the spectacular Great Opencast – shaped by miners using nothing more than picks, shovels and gunpowder! There is a level walk around the top of the Great Opencast and a viewing area with a stunning panorama that shows off the excavation’s amazing colours - an artist’s palette of reds, oranges, pinks, browns, purples, blacks, greens, yellows, and greys.
People have mined the metals harboured within Parys Mountain since the Bronze Age. A mass of copper ore that was discovered there in the late 1760’s prompted large scale mining, with yields so great that Amlwch came to dominate the world copper market for a decade. It became known as the ‘Copper Kingdom’. The mine owner, Thomas Williams became known as the ‘Copper King’. Even today, there is thought to be a reserve of about 6 million tonnes beneath the old mine workings. The dramatic, stony landscape appears barren, but it supports a variety of wildlife, including birds such as skylark, meadow pipit and chough. Plants that are able to tolerate high concentrations of copper and zinc are able to survive there. The area has distant views of Snowdonia, with the peak of Mount Snowdon visible on clear days. There is nowhere quite like Parys Mountain! More information is contained within the Copper Kingdom booklet, published by the Amlwch Industrial Heritage Trust.
For a list of public toilets on the island, please see Isle of Anglesey County Council - public toilets
A list of the toilets available through the Community Toilet Grant Scheme is also available
'Over 220 square miles of Anglesey’s landscapes are an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. '
'Making the most of the great outdoors is easy on Anglesey, as the great outdoors is something we have plenty of. '
'The breath-taking scenery and unusual rocky landscapes found in Anglesey are unlike anywhere else. '
'Going for a walk on Anglesey is a pleasure in itself.'
'A selection of ten circular walks from every corner of the island, from inspiring coastal scenery, to hidden monuments. '
'Maps and descriptions of the cycle routes. '
'The coast between Amlwch and Llaneilian is strikingly scenic with an expansive seascape. '
(START TYPING TO SEARCH)