Beaumaris Courthouse

Coronavirus: advice for visiting Anglesey

View Coronavirus Advice

Many of our attractions are reopening and/or have alternative arrangements for visitor enjoyment and safety. Please contact the attraction below for further details.

Beaumaris Courthouse is one of Anglesey’s most fascinating buildings and one of the oldest courthouses in Britain.

The courthouse is over 400 years old. Although alterations were made in the 19th century, its original character remains the same. Today cases are heard once a year,

Throughout the centuries the courthouse has witnessed various cases from petty misdemeanours to murder.

1768 - Hugh Jones stole eight cheeses and a quarter of beef - he was publicly whipped in four towns on the island.

1910 - William Murphy was sentenced to death for killing his mistress on Christmas Day. He was hanged in Caernarfon.

This place even today makes you want to stand in the dock and shout "NOT GUILTY!"

Pay and display car parks

Opening times

Open every day 10am to 5pm


Contact details

Castle Street
LL58 8BP
Tel: +44 (0) 1248 810921.


Shop, Audio Tours, Parking nearby.